A Dutch Life

Imagination Defines the Limits of Genius

Photos Online

Posted by Daniel McPherson on July 14, 2007

I have no idea why it took me so long, but I have finally gotten around to getting some of my photos online. Over the last week or so I spent hours sorting through all 14,000 of them, choosing just those I consider to be the best. Given how many there are, I have long ago given up any desire to categorise them all, so this is where I will start.

Its a pretty modest collection, and it includes shots from the time I got my first SLR (an Cannon EOS 500 when I was 18) to now. Last year I spent months painfully converting all my negatives to digital, while the quality is not brilliant, it is good enough. Leaving my negatives for many more years would have meant losing them forever as they had already degraded significantly. Looking through them I really wish I had been able to take them with a digital.

The hosting service I settled on is Smugmug, although the plan I have is really overkill for my purposes, it allows me to host the photos on my own domain. This means my photos will always be available at http://photos.daniel.mcpherson.name. This is all part of an ongoing experiment to better manage my online identity, kind of a proof point for the sorts of things we are doing at the Internet Address Book.

Anyway, I will be posting on the odd photo every now and then, its fun for me to remember where it was taken, why it was taken, thinking back to the places I have been. I know its indulgent, but its MY blog…

2 Responses to “Photos Online”

  1. Ilana said

    I was wandering around Copenhagen, doing the tourist circuit with a visiting friend, and we kept seeing this guy. He had a big tripod and a little camera, and would do this elaborate setups to take photos of himself. The ‘pensive at a cafe table’ tableau was particularly memorable.

    I’m reminded of this by the sheer number of your photos that feature you. 🙂

    Lovely photos. I am disappointed, however, not to see one of you having fallen drunkenly off a wall into some bushes. I have a copy if you need it.

  2. Was it a special type of tripod? Did he have a remote control? Little camerea wouldn’t do it for me, my complexion requires a very sensitive lens in order to reflect it in it’s true depth.

    I also have that picture, I think its scheduled to be uploaded sometime….ummmmm…….in the future.

Leave a comment